Pic of the Day: The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Funky caterpillar with a big appetite, unfortunately species unknown

I spotted this very hungry caterpillar out of the corner of my eye soon after passing Discovery Bay’s Lo Fu Tau a few weeks back. Love the funky colours, ‘design’ and prickly barbs. No idea of the species or what it turns into, unfortunately, or whether it’s toxic in any way, so if anyone knows, do tell me in the comments section. Thanks!

You can see more of my local wildlife encounters here – it’s an ongoing work in progress! (I seriously need to chance upon more snakes, lol.) If you’re interested, I also have a page dedicated to wild Hong Kong flowers and plants, with lots of photos personally taken by me whilst out and about on my hikes and walks.

Leave a Reply

