Pic of the Day: Vespa bicolor

black shield wasp

Here’s a Black Shield Wasp (Vespa bicolor) that I personally snapped up close (also using zoom, mind you!) during a recent hike. I only have a phone camera, so it’s not the sharpest pic, unfortunately.

I’m usually terrified of wasps and hornets, but have become somewhat braver ever since I took up hiking, plus this fella barely moved and looked strangely kinda cute. For a hornet, at least!

See more of my wildlife encounters here (still need to grow my list further!).

Leave a Reply

